All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

Opposed twin governor linkage.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
TokyoDrift99
TokyoDrift99

opposed - Opposed twin governor linkage. Empty
PostSubject: Opposed twin governor linkage.   opposed - Opposed twin governor linkage. Icon_minitimeApril 16th 2014, 6:33 pm

Sorry I have been starting so many new threads, but I am new to the small engine world. I am going to modify a craftsman that my uncle gave me, but the governor on the 18 hp opposed twin isn't hooked up. I would leave it off but it revs really high out of the blue and scares the crap out of me, and I don't want chunks of flywheel in my face. I have two main questions. Where is the spring in the green circle supposed to be hooked to? Shouldn't the part in the orange circle also move when the rest of the linkage moves? Because it doesn't. Thanks for any advice. opposed - Opposed twin governor linkage. LA7a6m0
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2021 Winner of Winners
2021 Winner of Winners
1st Place Build-Off 2016
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2016

PostSubject: Re: Opposed twin governor linkage.   opposed - Opposed twin governor linkage. Icon_minitimeApril 16th 2014, 6:42 pm

The orange circled part gets hooked to the throttle arm on the carb. Is the green circled spring hanging freely?
Back to top Go down
TokyoDrift99
TokyoDrift99

PostSubject: Re: Opposed twin governor linkage.   opposed - Opposed twin governor linkage. Icon_minitimeApril 16th 2014, 6:57 pm

Doc Sprocket wrote: