All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog inCountdown Timer
Swing by the Chatroom anytime! Next Chat Event - 10/7/2017 @ 8:00pm EST .
Welcome to the All Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum!
ATTENTION!! - The 2017 ATLTF Build-Off ends just over a month! Click Here to view qualification rules, and Click Here to view entry instructions!
Be sure your build threads are updated and your build meets "finished" qualification rules!!
The new 2017 ATLTF stickers are in! View them here, and order yours while they're hot!
We now have a Discord chat server! Contact Doug for an invite link!

Share | 
 

 what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:23 pm

I recently got a Wisconsin 4 cylinder engine, and I was wondering if they are any good?
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Age : 44
Join date : 2013-04-21
Posts : 2861
Forum Rep : 9
Location : Ontario Canada

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:49 pm

I never had any complaints. They can be pretty heavy depending on age/series, but dependable.

_______________________________________________
***Get YOUR official "Doc Locked, And Ready To Rock!" Stickers by clicking here!***
***Official Sprocket's Garage vinyl graphics and tees for sale HERE!***

Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!-Doc "Tranny Crusher" Sprocket, ATLTF Forum Admin, Thinkerer and Tinkerer, and all-around good dood. Wink

Gen. Mayhem- http://www.atltf.com/t2597-general-mayhem-race-tractor
MULE- http://www.atltf.com/t2153-lawn-boy-utltv
MULEII- http://www.atltf.com/t3328-1970-john-deere-112-the-beginnings-of-mule-ii
MULEIII http://www.atltf.com/t4263-mule3-brainstorming-ideas-etc#58287
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:17 pm

some pictures of the engine.




How easy is it to get parts for this model?
Back to top Go down
TroyBilt Pony
Veteran
Veteran
avatar

Join date : 2013-06-01
Posts : 578
Forum Rep : 0
Location : West Virginia

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:27 pm

looks like a rebuilt badge. performed in 1973. bored .020. thats what it looks like to me
Back to top Go down
TheBeal
Master
Master
avatar

Age : 23
Join date : 2013-06-06
Posts : 827
Forum Rep : 14
Location : Central PA

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:46 pm

JUNK.
Send it to me, and I will "dispose" of it properly....











I hear they are good engines. Parts may be $$$ for some.
Back to top Go down
mr.modified
Grand Master
Grand Master
avatar

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-11-02
Posts : 1957
Forum Rep : 25
Location : New Jersey

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:47 pm

Had one of those v4 wisconsins, scrapped it unfortunately. I've seen them used on train rides in amusement parks before.
Back to top Go down
willis923
Expert
Expert
avatar

Age : 21
Join date : 2013-04-10
Posts : 1408
Forum Rep : 0
Location : Galway NY

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:14 pm

probably not a bad engine, granted the internals arent botched. i do agree with TBP. that engine IS rebuilt, by General Machinery co, done in August of 1973, overbored to .020.
Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:15 pm

I'm not sure what I'm going to use it for just yet.
Back to top Go down
willis923
Expert
Expert
avatar

Age : 21
Join date : 2013-04-10
Posts : 1408
Forum Rep : 0
Location : Galway NY

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:16 pm

that would make a badass gokart engine.. #SuperFast
Back to top Go down
kawasaki220
Veteran
Veteran
avatar

Age : 16
Join date : 2014-01-22
Posts : 546
Forum Rep : 0
Location : north carolina

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:49 am

i had a dun buggy and it had that kind of motor on it i love them i could stam the gas and the tires would do a big burn out but in this picture the new motor is on it
Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:44 am

I'm starting to look for parts to possibly build a mini semi truck with a flat bed, to haul my lawnmowers around.
Back to top Go down
Moose
Master
Master
avatar

Age : 28
Join date : 2014-01-12
Posts : 904
Forum Rep : 1
Location : Defiance, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:19 pm

Uhhhhh guys... the rod is .020" the bore is .030"? pretty sure thats what the tag says unless they use the rod as the bore.... So mild bore and stroke?
Back to top Go down
TheBeal
Master
Master
avatar

Age : 23
Join date : 2013-06-06
Posts : 827
Forum Rep : 14
Location : Central PA

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:59 pm

Id find a 4 or 5 speed trans from a small truck/jeep/something to put behind it.
Could build an awesome tractor with that thing...

*drools*
Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:01 pm

Hmmm.... Maybe a longer or shorter rod? I'm not really sure. I have only recently rebuilt a single cylinder Briggs, so I'm prity new to this kinda stuff.
Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:02 pm

Yeess.. Yes it would.
Back to top Go down
Moose
Master
Master
avatar

Age : 28
Join date : 2014-01-12
Posts : 904
Forum Rep : 1
Location : Defiance, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:07 pm

Should check for interchangeability with parts from the 4cyl military generator engines they have sitting around built by Wisconsin and a few other companies but might work depending on displacement and bore size I believe the hp rating is something like 20+ for the civi models.

http://glenssurplus.com/proddetail.php?prod=4a032-4

http://www.xtrememotorworks.com/Cub%20Cadet%20982T.htm

Back to top Go down
55olds
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-07-15
Posts : 8
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   Wed Jul 16, 2014 5:01 pm

I think I'll do something like this with it,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLTmAbAPkss
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   

Back to top Go down
 
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?
» Fuel for glow engines
» Tecumseh engine
» WORLD OF WHEELS MILWAUKEE WISCONSIN (by a friend)
» History Opinion

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Off Topic :: Off Topic-
Jump to: