All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog inCountdown Timer
Swing by the Chatroom anytime! Chat events held every Saturday, 8pm EST - whenever!
Welcome to the All Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum!
The 2018 Build Off is almost HALF WAY!! Click Here to view 2017 results!
ATLTF sticker shipments will resume soon! View them here, and keep up to date!
The forum is getting a minor face-lift. We hope you like it. Details here: Facelifting the Forum

Share | 
 

 Transaxle opinions, please.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
blackmtnman
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2015-07-31
Posts : 3
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Transaxle opinions, please.   Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:27 pm

I'm building a 6 series MTD into a sort of overpowered mobility scooter. (I'm disabled.)

It will be driven lightly off lawn (LOL) on fairly smooth terrain, and I'm shooting for 40-45 MPH on pavement or gravel.

My tractor has the variable transaxle which I understand is a boat anchor for any serious hard use.

But for what I'm building, will it get the job done? Cost of a swap is a major consideration....My income is VERY limited. Engine is a 21 horse Vanguard.
Back to top Go down
craftsmancole
Veteran
Veteran
avatar

Age : 19
Join date : 2013-04-05
Posts : 662
Forum Rep : 1
Location : Near Daytona Beach,Fl

PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:50 pm

Unless you got lucky and got a 1" F-N-R, to hit 40-45 I think your best bet would be with a Peerless and pulley swap it. You could try to swap gears like Stretch.

Or and 820 would be great if you could find one cheap.
Back to top Go down
blackmtnman
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2015-07-31
Posts : 3
Forum Rep : 0

PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Sun Aug 02, 2015 3:51 pm

Showing my ignorance. What is F-N-R? Embarassed
Back to top Go down
MatthewD
Grand Master
Grand Master
avatar

Age : 16
Join date : 2014-11-16
Posts : 1766
Forum Rep : 30
Location : Northern Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:12 pm

A Forward Neutral and Reverse gearbox. Found on most MTD's. The vari-drive is the set of pulleys in the middle of your tractor that changes the pulley ratio as you shift up. The belt then goes to the FNR at which drives the wheels.
Back to top Go down
kawasaki220
Veteran
Veteran
avatar

Age : 17
Join date : 2014-01-22
Posts : 546
Forum Rep : 0
Location : north carolina

PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:37 pm

id say swap it with a gear shift tranny like a mst-205 or something but most f-n-r tranny can be maxed out a 35mph
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   

Back to top Go down
 
Transaxle opinions, please.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Looking for a transaxle
» Transaxle stopped working out of nowhere
» transaxle for homemade utv
» Snapper Transaxle Problem?
» Hydrostatic with Transaxle Cooler

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Technical Forum :: Drivetrain & Brake Tech :: Transaxles and Transmissions-
Jump to: