All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

LOCKED TRANSAXLE

Go down 
+4
Ford Boi
blanket80
dangeroustoys56
craftsman30mph
8 posters
AuthorMessage
craftsman30mph
craftsman30mph

LOCKED TRANSAXLE Empty
PostSubject: LOCKED TRANSAXLE   LOCKED TRANSAXLE Icon_minitimeSeptember 30th 2011, 8:33 pm

Quick question for you guys, I want to lock my transaxle and I want to know if it is worth it and if it breaks easier, because I am a pretty good welder even tho I haven't done it much But let me know if it is worth the work thanks guys
Back to top Go down
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

LOCKED TRANSAXLE Empty
PostSubject: Re: LOCKED TRANSAXLE   LOCKED TRANSAXLE Icon_minitimeSeptember 30th 2011, 9:23 pm

Depends- you might not like it - first itll be hard to steer with a locked axle, specially in trail/rock conditions.

To weld, the trans gears will need to be super clean to get a solid weld, and theres no guarantee that it wont break if run too hard.

Once i get my couple mod tractors going with the straight rear axles- ill probably be swearing up and down i shoulda used a diff axle.
Back to top Go down
craftsman30mph
craftsman30mph

LOCKED TRANSAXLE Empty
PostSubject: Re: LOCKED TRANSAXLE   LOCKED TRANSAXLE Icon_minitimeSeptember 30th 2011, 11:35 pm

dangeroustoys56 wrote:
Depends- you might not like it - first itll be hard to steer with a locked axle, specially in trail/rock conditions.

To weld, the trans gears will need to be super clean to get a solid weld, and theres no guarantee that it wont break if run too hard.