All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

20 hp v-twin idle surge.

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Briggs22re.86
Briggs22re.86

twin - 20 hp v-twin idle surge. Empty
PostSubject: 20 hp v-twin idle surge.   twin - 20 hp v-twin idle surge. Icon_minitimeMon Jun 11, 2012 7:46 pm

Im new to the sight and some what new to mowers, so bear with my rambling sentences. Im fixing my buddys tractor (MTD 20hp-Twin) for him and i ran into an issue. It has an idle surge at all times and can be corrected for a few seconds by holding the choke about 3/4 of the way out but then starts to flood. we took the transaxle out of it and had the intention of welding it up but never got around to it. That was a year ago and we decided to put it back together. but it sat for a whole year with bad gas in it so as soon as i got it back i cleaned the carb spotless. it fired first start but within 10 seconds started to surge. it would drive though and pull its self around fine. But after a few several hour romps it still surged and goes back and forth being able to move with out stalling, sometimes it will sometimes it wont. the best i can figure there is something wrong with the governor, because it just bounces up and down. I have a link to a crappy video showing the surging, best i could do before my nosy neighbors came over and started bothering me haha

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lJqTtzX5zI&feature=plcp
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: 20 hp v-twin idle surge.   twin - 20 hp v-twin idle surge. Icon_minitimeMon Jun 11, 2012 8:28 pm