All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSearchRegisterLog inBuild-OffTop Tractor Challenge
Welcome to the All Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum! . . .
New Top Tractor Challenge and Build-Off Profile Buttons on the menu bar! . . .
2020 Build-Off Winners . . . 1-Hillbilly Offroading . . . 2-darkside0914
HASPIN 2021 . . . Wednesday June 23rd through Sunday June 27th.
2021 Top Tractor Challenge August 14 competition –August 15 competitors ride, Pymatuning Pennsylvania **INFO HERE**
No 2021 Build-Off. Will return in 2022. Stay tuned later this year for rule changes!

 

 case 446 opinion

Go down 
AuthorMessage
darkside0914
Monkey Wrench
Monkey Wrench
darkside0914

Age : 44
Join date : 2018-05-05
Posts : 516
Forum Rep : 25
Location : S. Illinois

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSat Feb 01, 2020 6:05 am

i look at a lot of old tractors, well because i love them i guess, and a case 446 came up for sale in my area, from what i understand in the ad the engine needs replaced or rebuilt and it has a plow and deck, the owner states he got it in a trade and knows nothing about it, the price is right at $250, but not being able to run the engine and check the hydraulics has me spooked a little, i'm not interested in something i'll have to throw several hundred more dollars at to get going, so should i be worried about these things and pass, or should i just go for it and buy it if he still has it when i get payed next week, i'm not worried about the engine, i'm repowering my suburban ss16 with a newer engine and the case uses the same engine as the sears, just thought i'd get you guys thoughts before i made a decision
Back to top Go down
Doug
Administrator
Administrator
Doug

Age : 25
Join date : 2012-12-24
Posts : 2954
Forum Rep : 71
Location : Lebanon County, PA

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSat Feb 01, 2020 7:04 am

Those Case tractors are sweet. Maybe sweet talk him a little? Hydraulics arent too bad to fix if something is up. Just check to see if there is water in the lines, or for weird leaking areas, rust on the ram, etc.

_______________________________________________
Head Forum Administrator ** Chat Moderator ** Facebook Page Admin
ATLTF Facebook Page ** Chatbox ** How To Upload Pictures

_X_ FORUM ANNOUNCEMENTS _X_


Have a question? Ask me! Type in "@Doug" in your post!

Your ATLTF Staff:
Administrators: @Doug, @MightyRaze, @"Doc Sprocket", @Stretch44875
Moderators: @TheRainbowBoxer, @AllisKidD21




Back to top Go down
Okie743
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-08-19
Posts : 5
Forum Rep : 0

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSat Feb 01, 2020 8:01 am

You can get a 2nd opinion from this link about the Case 446. Some guys hang out at this link that are experts on the 446/448.
https://casecoltingersoll.com/forumdisplay.php/11-Case-Colt-Ingersoll-Tractors


I would see if he knows the prev owner to ask questions. Non-runner is kinda like buying a pig in a poke.

I bought a Case 448 for $100 that was non-running but I could see that it had lots of good parts if I could not make it go without throwing very much mola$'s into the machine. He indicated the carb was bad, and maybe ignition. He gave me a new coil. It had a really good belly deck and good tires on the tractor. I got lucky, all was good except the carb and battery.
Back to top Go down
AllisKidD21
Moderator
Moderator
AllisKidD21

Age : 22
Join date : 2016-07-10
Posts : 5112
Forum Rep : 274
Location : Ontario Canada

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSat Feb 01, 2020 10:36 am

The big wheel Case tractors are extremely stout tractors, and pretty versatile. The engine would be an Onan C Series I believe, but lots of them have been repowered with more modern V-twins. If you use the Onan out of your Sears just note that the crank output shaft is only about an 1 1/2" long on an engine for a Case tractor.

These tractors use "Hydriv" which is a hydraulic drive system that powers the two speed rear-end, so essentially the hydraulics do everything. If it's not running you won't be able to check the condition of the pump, TCV, cylinder, or drive motor. All of which can be quite costly to fix, being that the parts for them are only available through Case themselves.

That being said, the implements alone are probably worth the $250 if they are in good shape, so to me I think you would be safe buying it and if it doesn't work out, you could part it out and probably even make a profit. Then either keep the implements or sell them as well.

Maybe you could offer him $200 too, and if you go back to look at it, I would take a peek in the oil reservoir to see if it's full. If it has been kept topped up, everything might still be fine. But either way I don't think you'd be too bad, might have yourself a great working tractor in the end!

_______________________________________________
"This'll either wake you up or put you to sleep forever!"- Red Green         "Whatever you do you should do right, even if it's something wrong." - Hank Hill
     
      - MTD Off-Road Build
      - Ford LT 110 Off-Road Build
      - Craftsman GT 6000 Off-Road Build
       - Sears LT11 Rat Rod Build *2019 Build-Off Winner!*


  - Allis B-110 x2, 710 & 716 - Wheel Horse 655, 953 & 500 Special - Case 444 - Bolens Versamatic & 1668 - Cub 106 & 124 - Ford LGT 125 & 145 - White 1650 Yard Boss
Back to top Go down
darkside0914
Monkey Wrench
Monkey Wrench
darkside0914

Age : 44
Join date : 2018-05-05
Posts : 516
Forum Rep : 25
Location : S. Illinois

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSun Feb 02, 2020 2:59 am

thanks for the input guys, i'll take a chance if it's still available when i get paid in a few days, i hope it is and everything is good on it, it would make a sweet all around work/play machine
Back to top Go down
Okie743
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie


Join date : 2014-08-19
Posts : 5
Forum Rep : 0

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeSun Feb 02, 2020 8:23 am

You can find Service manuals for the Case and it's Onan engine at the link I posted and lots of info from old case geezers.

Those attachments you mentioned are also desirable items.

I installed a set of used 16 inch 8 ply LT 8 ply tires and chains on the rear of my 448 so as to pull a disc through stobs and soft ground. Them are stout little tractors when running correctly. If the engine is complete they also part out good expecially the carb's,

Back to top Go down
darkside0914
Monkey Wrench
Monkey Wrench
darkside0914

Age : 44
Join date : 2018-05-05
Posts : 516
Forum Rep : 25
Location : S. Illinois

case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitimeMon Feb 10, 2020 3:18 am

well unfortunately it was sold the day before i got the money, i had contacted the owner hoping i could talk him into holding it for a couple days but no luck, oh well i have enough on my plate to do right now without adding another project to my list, and once i get started on it the build off project will be taking most of my time anyway
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




case 446 opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: case 446 opinion   case 446 opinion Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
case 446 opinion
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Tractor Project Builds :: Utility, Workhorse, and Pulling Tractors-
Jump to: