All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

 

 what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?

Go down 
+4
TheBeal
TroyBilt Pony
Doc Sprocket
55olds
8 posters
AuthorMessage
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 6:23 pm

I recently got a Wisconsin 4 cylinder engine, and I was wondering if they are any good?
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2021 Winner of Winners
2021 Winner of Winners
1st Place Build-Off 2016
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2016

Age : 51
Join date : 2013-04-21
Points : 7157
Posts : 2914
Location : Ontario Canada

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 7:49 pm

I never had any complaints. They can be pretty heavy depending on age/series, but dependable.
Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 8:17 pm

some pictures of the engine.
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Wp_20113
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Wp_20114
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Wp_20115

How easy is it to get parts for this model?
Back to top Go down
TroyBilt Pony
Established Member
TroyBilt Pony
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Join date : 2013-06-01
Points : 4649
Posts : 578
Location : West Virginia

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 9:27 pm

looks like a rebuilt badge. performed in 1973. bored .020. thats what it looks like to me
Back to top Go down
TheBeal
Veteran Member
TheBeal
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

Age : 29
Join date : 2013-06-06
Points : 5554
Posts : 1400
Location : Central PA

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 9:46 pm

JUNK.
Send it to me, and I will "dispose" of it properly....











I hear they are good engines. Parts may be $$$ for some.
Back to top Go down
mr.modified
Veteran Member
mr.modified
Veteran Member

2015 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2015 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2016 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2016 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2018 Build-Off Finalist
2018 Build-Off Finalist
2022 Build-Off Entrant
2022 Build-Off Entrant
2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
1st Place Build-Off 2014
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2014
2023 Build-Off Entrant
2023 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 34
Join date : 2013-11-02
Points : 7002
Posts : 2906
Location : New Jersey USA

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 9:47 pm

Had one of those v4 wisconsins, scrapped it unfortunately. I've seen them used on train rides in amusement parks before.
Back to top Go down
willis923
Veteran Member
willis923
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-04-10
Points : 5600
Posts : 1408
Location : Galway NY

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 10:14 pm

probably not a bad engine, granted the internals arent botched. i do agree with TBP. that engine IS rebuilt, by General Machinery co, done in August of 1973, overbored to .020.
Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 10:15 pm

I'm not sure what I'm going to use it for just yet.
Back to top Go down
willis923
Veteran Member
willis923
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-04-10
Points : 5600
Posts : 1408
Location : Galway NY

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 15th 2014, 10:16 pm

that would make a badass gokart engine.. #SuperFast
Back to top Go down
kawasaki220
Established Member
kawasaki220
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 23
Join date : 2014-01-22
Points : 4410
Posts : 546
Location : north carolina

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 8:49 am

i had a dun buggy and it had that kind of motor on it i love them i could stam the gas and the tires would do a big burn out but in this picture the new motor is on it
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Dsc01010
Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 9:44 am

I'm starting to look for parts to possibly build a mini semi truck with a flat bed, to haul my lawnmowers around.
Back to top Go down
Moose
Established Member
Moose
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts

Age : 35
Join date : 2014-01-12
Points : 4790
Posts : 919
Location : Defiance, Ohio

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 12:19 pm

Uhhhhh guys... the rod is .020" the bore is .030"? pretty sure thats what the tag says unless they use the rod as the bore.... So mild bore and stroke?
Back to top Go down
TheBeal
Veteran Member
TheBeal
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

Age : 29
Join date : 2013-06-06
Points : 5554
Posts : 1400
Location : Central PA

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 12:59 pm

Id find a 4 or 5 speed trans from a small truck/jeep/something to put behind it.
Could build an awesome tractor with that thing...

*drools*
Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 1:01 pm

Hmmm.... Maybe a longer or shorter rod? I'm not really sure. I have only recently rebuilt a single cylinder Briggs, so I'm prity new to this kinda stuff.
Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 1:02 pm

Yeess.. Yes it would.
Back to top Go down
Moose
Established Member
Moose
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts

Age : 35
Join date : 2014-01-12
Points : 4790
Posts : 919
Location : Defiance, Ohio

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 1:07 pm

Should check for interchangeability with parts from the 4cyl military generator engines they have sitting around built by Wisconsin and a few other companies but might work depending on displacement and bore size I believe the hp rating is something like 20+ for the civi models.

http://glenssurplus.com/proddetail.php?prod=4a032-4

http://www.xtrememotorworks.com/Cub%20Cadet%20982T.htm

Back to top Go down
55olds
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2014-07-15
Points : 3631
Posts : 8

what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitimeJuly 16th 2014, 5:01 pm

I think I'll do something like this with it,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLTmAbAPkss
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Empty
PostSubject: Re: what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?   what is your opinion about wisconsin engines? Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
what is your opinion about wisconsin engines?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» What do you do if people talk crap about your mower?
» Anyone in Wisconsin besides me and kel?
» case 446 opinion
» Introduce yourself!
» Anyone in Wisconsin

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Off Topic :: Off Topic-
Jump to: