All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

 

 pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
richie thomas
Veteran Member
richie thomas
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 29
Join date : 2011-08-04
Points : 6190
Posts : 1434
Location : east dublin georgia

pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Empty
PostSubject: pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions   pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Icon_minitimeDecember 29th 2011, 9:22 pm

im rebuilding mine now loland instead of making the pulleys i bought a 6" for the motor and a 3 1/2" for the tranny, the motor is a 18.5 briggs opposed twin any ideas of the speed of this thing?
Back to top Go down
blanket80
Member
blanket80
Member


Age : 28
Join date : 2010-11-10
Points : 5083
Posts : 128
Location : Scottdale, PA

pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions   pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Icon_minitimeDecember 30th 2011, 12:36 am

Depending on the tranny, i'd say somewhere around the 30+ range. But be carefull lawnmowers aren't stable at those speeds. I had a dynamark that went 40+, but it was lowered, the front end was welded solid, and the steering was upgraded. But it was still very hairy at those speeds. Just be smart, and dont get hurt! Wink
Back to top Go down
richie thomas
Veteran Member
richie thomas
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 29
Join date : 2011-08-04
Points : 6190
Posts : 1434
Location : east dublin georgia

pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions   pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Icon_minitimeDecember 31st 2011, 12:41 am

lol thats bout what i figured its a five speed tranny, ive built one before and it ran bout 30 but i made the pulleys and it ate belts like a b*tch lol so i bought these Cool im probally goin to just take the three and a half back and get a four or five, cause im gone ride trails with this one i got another one for speed Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
richie thomas
Veteran Member
richie thomas
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 29
Join date : 2011-08-04
Points : 6190
Posts : 1434
Location : east dublin georgia

pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions   pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Icon_minitimeDecember 31st 2011, 1:13 am

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions   pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
pulley ratio, just looking for some opinions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» What you guys think about this pulley ratio
» Best pulley ratio for trail/ torque?
» Stock clutch vs double pulley. Opinions, pros/cons
» What Pulley ratio should i use for running bigger tires?
» Would you use a chain or pulley type clutch and what ratio?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Technical Forum :: Drivetrain & Brake Tech :: Pulley, clutches, and Belts-
Jump to: