All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

 

 Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-03-18
Points : 7301
Posts : 3131
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 18th 2014, 5:17 pm

In the hunt for a new machine because i cant do good sheet metal work with my 90 fluxcore, nor do i feel comfortable welding my truck frame with one. So, the reason for 140 is because i only have 120v in my garage, and my garage is 130ft from my house, so 220 line would be very expensive. I have enough money to buy a 140 hobart at tractor supply right now, $480 on sale, with regulators and everything accept the bottle and wire for mig, witch ive eventually want to do. Or, i can wait for a 140 lincoln to come up that is slightly used, for about the same amount, witch isnt that uncommon. Reading reviews of both welders seem fine, but the reviews seem to be from the average home buyer that maybe used one 4 lb spool.

I just want to know if anyone's had trouble with any of them, or experienced them. Both seem like good machines, just dont want to make a mistake throwing this amount of money around.
Back to top Go down
willis923
Veteran Member
willis923
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-04-10
Points : 5579
Posts : 1408
Location : Galway NY

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 18th 2014, 6:12 pm

i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-03-18
Points : 7301
Posts : 3131
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 18th 2014, 9:49 pm

willis923 wrote:
i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.
True about the warranty. pricing out bottles now, so ill let you guys know if i get it.
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP
Doc Sprocket
Site VIP

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2018 Build-Off Entrant
2021 Winner of Winners
2021 Winner of Winners
1st Place Build-Off 2016
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2016

Age : 51
Join date : 2013-04-21
Points : 7136
Posts : 2914
Location : Ontario Canada

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 18th 2014, 9:53 pm

This is kind of a Chevy/Ford thing. While I am a devout Lincoln fanatic, it's really up to you. Hobart stuff is made by Miller, so it's a win/win situation either way.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-03-18
Points : 7301
Posts : 3131
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 20th 2014, 8:40 pm

I have made a decision. Tractor supply had this $40 off, and i have a 10% off cupon too, so what is usually $520, i got for $431!!! Ran 3 passes full tilt and im sold, super easy to set up and dial in. Cant wait to get a mid bottle.
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10474410
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10478110
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10414410
Back to top Go down
pukesniffer
New Member
pukesniffer
New Member


Join date : 2014-05-06
Points : 3692
Posts : 16
Location : jefferson,new hampshire

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 20th 2014, 10:47 pm

i have used many differant named welders.... with that in mind A BAD WELDER BLAMES THE MACHINE. the thing to look for is price warrenty and are going to make a living off your machine. some brands have differant nitches. i work with a lincon but play with my hobart. lincon and miller are over priced machines for playing with.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-03-18
Points : 7301
Posts : 3131
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeJune 21st 2014, 11:28 am

I really enjoy it already. Easy to set up and dial in.

Slapped a video together last night, came out pretty good.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator

2500+ Posts
2500+ Posts!
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 27
Join date : 2013-03-18
Points : 7301
Posts : 3131
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeAugust 27th 2014, 9:20 pm

Only took me about two months but i DID upgrade this to MIG.

-80cf bottle filled with c25
-12.5 lincoln solid .030 wire
-pig iron stand

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10647111
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10577011
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» hobart handler 125 E-Z
» Hobart auto-dark welding helmet
» Transaxle opinions, please.
» Question about War Machine, need opinions
» First Welder

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Off Topic :: Off Topic-
Jump to: