All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

 

 Transaxle opinions, please.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
blackmtnman
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2015-07-31
Points : 3198
Posts : 3

Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitimeJuly 31st 2015, 10:27 pm

I'm building a 6 series MTD into a sort of overpowered mobility scooter. (I'm disabled.)

It will be driven lightly off lawn (LOL) on fairly smooth terrain, and I'm shooting for 40-45 MPH on pavement or gravel.

My tractor has the variable transaxle which I understand is a boat anchor for any serious hard use.

But for what I'm building, will it get the job done? Cost of a swap is a major consideration....My income is VERY limited. Engine is a 21 horse Vanguard.
Back to top Go down
craftsmancole
Established Member
craftsmancole
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts
2015 Build-Off Entrant
2015 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 24
Join date : 2013-04-05
Points : 4752
Posts : 661
Location : New Smyrna Beach,Fl

Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitimeAugust 1st 2015, 8:50 pm

Unless you got lucky and got a 1" F-N-R, to hit 40-45 I think your best bet would be with a Peerless and pulley swap it. You could try to swap gears like Stretch.

Or and 820 would be great if you could find one cheap.
Back to top Go down
blackmtnman
New Member

New Member


Join date : 2015-07-31
Points : 3198
Posts : 3

Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitimeAugust 2nd 2015, 3:51 pm

Showing my ignorance. What is F-N-R? Embarassed
Back to top Go down
MatthewD
Veteran Member
MatthewD
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!
2015 Build-Off Entrant
2015 Build-Off Entrant
2016 Build-Off Entrant
2016 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 22
Join date : 2014-11-16
Points : 5543
Posts : 1993
Location : Northern Ireland

Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitimeAugust 2nd 2015, 4:12 pm

A Forward Neutral and Reverse gearbox. Found on most MTD's. The vari-drive is the set of pulleys in the middle of your tractor that changes the pulley ratio as you shift up. The belt then goes to the FNR at which drives the wheels.
Back to top Go down
kawasaki220
Established Member
kawasaki220
Established Member

500+ Posts
500+ Posts
2014 Build-Off Entrant
2014 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 23
Join date : 2014-01-22
Points : 4361
Posts : 546
Location : north carolina

Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitimeAugust 4th 2015, 4:37 pm

id say swap it with a gear shift tranny like a mst-205 or something but most f-n-r tranny can be maxed out a 35mph
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Transaxle opinions, please. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Transaxle opinions, please.   Transaxle opinions, please. Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Transaxle opinions, please.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» What do I need to do to swap a hydro transaxle with a geared transaxle?
» Question about War Machine, need opinions
» Looking for a transaxle
» Transaxle ?
» what transaxle

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Technical Forum :: Drivetrain & Brake Tech :: Transaxles and Transmissions-
Jump to: