All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog inCountdown Timer
Swing by the Chatroom anytime! Next Chat Event - TBA.
Welcome to the All Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum!
ATTENTION!! - The 2017 ATLTF Build-Off is underway! Click Here to view qualification rules, and Click Here to view entry instructions!
The new 2017 ATLTF stickers are in! View them here, and order yours while they're hot!

Share | 
 

 Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3122
Forum Rep : 2
Location : fingerlakes, New York

PostSubject: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:17 pm

In the hunt for a new machine because i cant do good sheet metal work with my 90 fluxcore, nor do i feel comfortable welding my truck frame with one. So, the reason for 140 is because i only have 120v in my garage, and my garage is 130ft from my house, so 220 line would be very expensive. I have enough money to buy a 140 hobart at tractor supply right now, $480 on sale, with regulators and everything accept the bottle and wire for mig, witch ive eventually want to do. Or, i can wait for a 140 lincoln to come up that is slightly used, for about the same amount, witch isnt that uncommon. Reading reviews of both welders seem fine, but the reviews seem to be from the average home buyer that maybe used one 4 lb spool.

I just want to know if anyone's had trouble with any of them, or experienced them. Both seem like good machines, just dont want to make a mistake throwing this amount of money around.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!

ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
ban doug fackler for forever
Back to top Go down
willis923
Expert
Expert
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-04-10
Posts : 1408
Forum Rep : 0
Location : Galway NY

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:12 pm

i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3122
Forum Rep : 2
Location : fingerlakes, New York

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:49 pm

@willis923 wrote:
i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.
True about the warranty. pricing out bottles now, so ill let you guys know if i get it.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!

ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
ban doug fackler for forever
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Age : 44
Join date : 2013-04-21
Posts : 2853
Forum Rep : 10
Location : Ontario Canada

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:53 pm

This is kind of a Chevy/Ford thing. While I am a devout Lincoln fanatic, it's really up to you. Hobart stuff is made by Miller, so it's a win/win situation either way.

_______________________________________________
***Get YOUR official "Doc Locked, And Ready To Rock!" Stickers by clicking here!***
***Official Sprocket's Garage vinyl graphics and tees for sale HERE!***

Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!-Doc "Tranny Crusher" Sprocket, ATLTF Forum Admin, Thinkerer and Tinkerer, and all-around good dood. Wink

Gen. Mayhem- http://www.atltf.com/t2597-general-mayhem-race-tractor
MULE- http://www.atltf.com/t2153-lawn-boy-utltv
MULEII- http://www.atltf.com/t3328-1970-john-deere-112-the-beginnings-of-mule-ii
MULEIII http://www.atltf.com/t4263-mule3-brainstorming-ideas-etc#58287
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3122
Forum Rep : 2
Location : fingerlakes, New York

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:40 pm

I have made a decision. Tractor supply had this $40 off, and i have a 10% off cupon too, so what is usually $520, i got for $431!!! Ran 3 passes full tilt and im sold, super easy to set up and dial in. Cant wait to get a mid bottle.



_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!

ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
ban doug fackler for forever
Back to top Go down
pukesniffer
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
avatar

Join date : 2014-05-06
Posts : 16
Forum Rep : 0
Location : jefferson,new hampshire

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:47 pm

i have used many differant named welders.... with that in mind A BAD WELDER BLAMES THE MACHINE. the thing to look for is price warrenty and are going to make a living off your machine. some brands have differant nitches. i work with a lincon but play with my hobart. lincon and miller are over priced machines for playing with.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3122
Forum Rep : 2
Location : fingerlakes, New York

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Sat Jun 21, 2014 11:28 am

I really enjoy it already. Easy to set up and dial in.

Slapped a video together last night, came out pretty good.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!

ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
ban doug fackler for forever
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Age : 20
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3122
Forum Rep : 2
Location : fingerlakes, New York

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:20 pm

Only took me about two months but i DID upgrade this to MIG.

-80cf bottle filled with c25
-12.5 lincoln solid .030 wire
-pig iron stand



_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!

ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
ban doug fackler for forever
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» i really need a welder....
» Looking for opinions on wedges
» -WELDER-Dent-Puller
» Opinions and suggestions, please!
» Miller Dynasty 200 DX Tig Welder & Chiller

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Off Topic :: Off Topic-
Jump to: