All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Lend10PortalHomeFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog inDiscordCountdown TimerOpinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Rend10
Welcome to the All Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum!
2019 Build Off Underway!
Haspin Acres Rally 2019 June 5th - 9th... Join this growing event! Details Here!
2019 Top Tractor Challenge! Aug 17th and 18th! DETAILS HERE!

Share
 

 Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder

Go down 
AuthorMessage
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3123
Forum Rep : 3
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeWed Jun 18, 2014 5:17 pm

In the hunt for a new machine because i cant do good sheet metal work with my 90 fluxcore, nor do i feel comfortable welding my truck frame with one. So, the reason for 140 is because i only have 120v in my garage, and my garage is 130ft from my house, so 220 line would be very expensive. I have enough money to buy a 140 hobart at tractor supply right now, $480 on sale, with regulators and everything accept the bottle and wire for mig, witch ive eventually want to do. Or, i can wait for a 140 lincoln to come up that is slightly used, for about the same amount, witch isnt that uncommon. Reading reviews of both welders seem fine, but the reviews seem to be from the average home buyer that maybe used one 4 lb spool.

I just want to know if anyone's had trouble with any of them, or experienced them. Both seem like good machines, just dont want to make a mistake throwing this amount of money around.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Screen17
ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
whos mans is this
Back to top Go down
willis923
Expert
Expert
willis923

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-04-10
Posts : 1408
Forum Rep : 0
Location : Galway NY

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeWed Jun 18, 2014 6:12 pm

i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.

_______________________________________________
-1974 bolens 1055 (Rolling Thunder)
-1989 Craftsman GT6000 (Blockhead)
-2004 Ford F-250 super duty FX4
-1999 Ford F-350 Superduty 4x4 7.3 Powerstroke


Lt wrote:
Feel free to try... Dont let anything but fear and common sense stop you. 


Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Pbucket

Chat moderator

1st Lieutenant, Volunteer Firefighter, EMT-B, Galway Vol Fire co. Galway NY
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3123
Forum Rep : 3
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeWed Jun 18, 2014 9:49 pm

@willis923 wrote:
i have a hobart handler 125 and it has performed fantastically. ive had no issues with it what so ever. i have used a handler 140 before and it was the nicest welding mig welder ive ever used. easy to get it dialed in and it welds very nice. id get the hobart. they have a great warranty program, and theyre the same as miller.
True about the warranty. pricing out bottles now, so ill let you guys know if i get it.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Screen17
ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
whos mans is this
Back to top Go down
Doc Sprocket
Administrator
Administrator
Doc Sprocket

Age : 46
Join date : 2013-04-21
Posts : 2910
Forum Rep : 18
Location : Ontario Canada

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeWed Jun 18, 2014 9:53 pm

This is kind of a Chevy/Ford thing. While I am a devout Lincoln fanatic, it's really up to you. Hobart stuff is made by Miller, so it's a win/win situation either way.

_______________________________________________
***Get YOUR official "Doc Locked, And Ready To Rock!" Stickers by clicking here!***
***Official Sprocket's Garage vinyl graphics and tees for sale HERE!***
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Facebo12
Put down the wrench, and come out with your hands up!-Doc "Tranny Crusher" Sprocket, ATLTF Forum Admin, Thinkerer and Tinkerer, and all-around good dood. Wink

Gen. Mayhem- http://www.atltf.com/t2597-general-mayhem-race-tractor
MULE- http://www.atltf.com/t2153-lawn-boy-utltv
MULEII- http://www.atltf.com/t3328-1970-john-deere-112-the-beginnings-of-mule-ii
MULEIII http://www.atltf.com/t4263-mule3-brainstorming-ideas-etc#58287
Wrench, Wheel, Wreck, Repeat...
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3123
Forum Rep : 3
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeFri Jun 20, 2014 8:40 pm

I have made a decision. Tractor supply had this $40 off, and i have a 10% off cupon too, so what is usually $520, i got for $431!!! Ran 3 passes full tilt and im sold, super easy to set up and dial in. Cant wait to get a mid bottle.
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10474410
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10478110
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10414410

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Screen17
ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
whos mans is this
Back to top Go down
pukesniffer
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
pukesniffer

Join date : 2014-05-06
Posts : 16
Forum Rep : 0
Location : jefferson,new hampshire

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeFri Jun 20, 2014 10:47 pm

i have used many differant named welders.... with that in mind A BAD WELDER BLAMES THE MACHINE. the thing to look for is price warrenty and are going to make a living off your machine. some brands have differant nitches. i work with a lincon but play with my hobart. lincon and miller are over priced machines for playing with.
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3123
Forum Rep : 3
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeSat Jun 21, 2014 11:28 am

I really enjoy it already. Easy to set up and dial in.

Slapped a video together last night, came out pretty good.

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Screen17
ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
whos mans is this
Back to top Go down
redlinemotorsportts
Moderator
Moderator
redlinemotorsportts

Age : 22
Join date : 2013-03-18
Posts : 3123
Forum Rep : 3
Location : raleigh nc

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitimeWed Aug 27, 2014 9:20 pm

Only took me about two months but i DID upgrade this to MIG.

-80cf bottle filled with c25
-12.5 lincoln solid .030 wire
-pig iron stand

Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10647111
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  10577011

_______________________________________________
Check out my builds!: MTD "Rock Bouncing" Mower -------- 60's Springfeild V-twin Mini Speed Tractor : SOLD!
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Screen17
ATLTF.com Facebook admin - Forum Mod
whos mans is this
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder    Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder  Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on a Hobart vs. Lincoln 140 welder
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» i really need a welder....
» Lawn tractor with built in stick/arc welder.
» What Welder is the best for mower modding?
» Tasmania Club
» The welder i would love to have

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: Off Topic :: Off Topic-
Jump to: