All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!
 
PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

 

 Craftsman t1200

Go down 
4 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
MightyRaze
Administrator

Administrator

2017 Build-Off Finalist
2017 Build-Off Finalist
2018 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2018 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2019 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2019 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2021 Winner of Winners
2021 Winner of Winners
1st Place Build-Off 2022
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2022
10,000 POSTS!
10,000 POSTS!
2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Join date : 2016-09-06
Posts : 10789

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:30 pm

It's possible someone repowered the mower. I would spend the time if you have not already and tape up all the exposed wires. I would make sure to trace down each one because as you mentioned, they put screws and such in the safety's. I bet one went bad and someone just went hacking things in hopes to get it running. You say it will Idle all day. I would (one at a time) take the screws out of a plug and plug it back into the safety to find which is the bad one. Make sure you hop on and engage the mower to make sure it doesn't kill the mower. If it does not, move to the next plug. In the process, and it will take a while sometimes, maybe you can find the pesky short that is killing your mower after mowing a bit.

Also on a side note, make sure there isn't a rats nest under the engine shroud and fluffy hasn't chewed your kill wire to the coil or plug wire. I've had an engine idle all day but the vibration of driving cause a wire to ground out.

Good luck, I know wiring is not fun sometimes.
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:31 pm

@brainator it will start right back after it dies out. And that what I don't git. Man
Back to top Go down
Brianator
Moderator
Brianator
Moderator

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!
2022 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2022 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2023 Build-Off Entrant
2023 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 45
Join date : 2019-07-02
Points : 4422
Posts : 2383
Location : Ontario, Canada

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:33 pm

See that fuel shutoff solenoid in the bottom of the bowl, that could potentially be your issue. To test that hook a temporary wire from the connector to the battery and see if that solves the problem.


My All Terrain Tractors:
- "The WarHorse" ~ 1984 Sears Craftsman LT(V)11 (MTD Built) (Romping in Progress!)
- Roper "Trailblazer" ~ 1986 Roper LT110CR (Trailblazing in Progress!)
- The "Mud Duck" ~ 1969 Bolens 1225 Hydro (2022 Build Off 2nd place!)
- The "Silver Bullet" ~ 1984 Sears Craftsman LT(V)11 (MTD Built) (Part 1)
- The "Silver Bullet" (Take 2) ~ 2024 Build Off entry (Work in progress)
- Roper "Offroadster" ~ 1979 Roper T4328 (Romping in Progress!)
- 1973 Massey Ferguson MF12 ~ (Sold to a good home)



                             Click Here To See The DIY and Build Threads I've Created!

                                            ~My Real Hobby Is Collecting Projects!~
Back to top Go down
PizzaKitty26
Member
PizzaKitty26
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Join date : 2023-01-24
Points : 717
Posts : 149
Location : ON

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:34 pm

Yes, also that carb does need to be cleaned Imao.
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:39 pm

Pizzakitty26 I already cleaned it and the gas tanks and put new fuel shutoffs on it after I cleaned it up and put it back to githere and it ran good until it started shutting it self off and it starts back after it dies and the vibration starts and it will good and then die out and the same over and over.
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:40 pm

Pizzakitty26 I post more pic of it and what I had to clean it with
Back to top Go down
MightyRaze
Administrator
MightyRaze
Administrator

2017 Build-Off Finalist
2017 Build-Off Finalist
2018 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2018 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2019 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2019 Build-Off Top 3 Winner
2021 Winner of Winners
2021 Winner of Winners
1st Place Build-Off 2022
1st Place Build-Off Winner 2022
10,000 POSTS!
10,000 POSTS!
2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 49
Join date : 2016-09-06
Points : 15313
Posts : 10789
Location : Oklahoma

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 3:56 pm

Just a review for everyone, if I am following right.

  • Mower will idle all day.
  • Mower dies under load (mowing) after a couple minutes.
  • Wires have been chopped and reconnected
  • Screws in safety switches
  • Carb and fuel tank cleaned. New line and shut-off installed.
  • Will restart after it dies


I can't tell if that engine has a fuel solenoid, a wired connected barrel under the carb bowl.  It could be getting hot and failing under load.

I don't see a manual mower engage.  I'm guessing electric PTO?  Make sure one of the wires down under where the mower deck pulley is at is not bare and grounding out.

As I mentioned, make sure there isn't a mouse nest under the top cover causing it to overheat on load (mowing)

Check spark plug gap, should be about 0.030.  This could cause it to run a little hotter if out of spec.  Would not notice until higher throttle or under load.


I hope you see all the good advice everyone has thrown in.  Be sure to do them one at a time.  Never know when fixing one issue another may pop up which is wy the previous owner did so much hacking at the wires.


Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Sig115PROJECTS:
     Marshal ........93 Craftsman GT6000      
     Red Bandit ...72 Wheel Horse Raider 12
     Dirty Rat........77 Sears Suburban
     Bowser..........01 Murray Widebody LT
     Other projects
Have a question? Ask me! Type in "@MightyRaze" in your post!
Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Sig214Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Sig314
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 4:07 pm

Yes mightyraze and IV done everything I know Todo and the wires I can pull on and the will come apart it just been sitting out the in the carport with the rest of my projects.cause when it comes down to the wiring I'm not the smartest tool in the shed. But everything else I can do.
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 4:08 pm

And I appreciate it all very much and u all don't know really how much I appreciate it .
Back to top Go down
Hillbilly mowers
Member
Hillbilly mowers
Member

2024 Build-Off Entrant
2024 Build-Off Entrant

Age : 37
Join date : 2023-10-12
Points : 624
Posts : 291
Location : Booneville ky

Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitimeOctober 29th 2023, 4:11 pm

Mightyraze it like in a previous post I had on here and wireing issues on a 17.5 hp and I burnt my stator up on it. Cause I wired it just like the fearless front diagram that he had post on his YouTube channel.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Craftsman t1200    Craftsman t1200  - Page 2 Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Craftsman t1200
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» '86 Westwood T1200
» Westwood t1200 has been modified
» Westwood t1200 fluid drive
» Westwood T1200 Offroad/Utility tractor
» MatthewD's Westwood T1200 Rally Mower

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum :: New Member Forum :: New Member Help and Site Tips-
Jump to: